Payday Book Haul – December

Adoring Christmas as I do, December is always my favourite month of the year. However, December 2013 might just be my favourite December thus far, as this month I got my first pay-packet from my first proper job in publishing!

So naturally, to celebrate, I spent those hard-earned wages of mine on… books!

And so without further ado, here’s my mammoth December payday book haul.

Image

Working top-bottom:

Zahrah the Windseeker – Nnedi Okorafor. Nnedi Okorafor is one of my absolute favourite authors. A Nigerian-American fantasy writer, Nnedi is an absolute master at writing intense, startlingly original fantasy that deals with identity, tradition and all manner of juju.

Who Could That Be At This Hour? – Lemony Snicket. Found for £1 in my local Oxfam Books, which was a ‘grab-it-off-shelf-and-clutch-to-chest’ moment!

Delirium – Lauren Oliver. What if love was a disease? And what if there was a cure? Delirium has been on my radar for what feels like an inexplicably long time, but I’ve finally got a copy now and it’s next on my reading list! I’m back into dystopia after a long-ish break, and can’t wait to get stuck in.

Kraken – China Miéville. A book about a giant squid. It was £1. It’s Miéville. I couldn’t leave it on the shelf.

Poison Study – Maria V. Snyder. I’ve heard a great deal about this series on BookTube and picked up this the first volume for a measly £2.99 in The Book Depository’s 50 book flash sale. Poison Study is about Yelena, a girl spared from murderer’s row in the country of Ixia (I’m presuming it’s a country, anyway) to be employed as the taster for the Commander of Ixia’s food, thus saving him from assassination attempts, but always in danger of being poisoned herself. I’m sure it’s far more interesting than I’m making it sound!

Midwinterblood – Marcus Sedgwick. “In 2073 on the remote and secretive island of Blessed, where rumour has it that no one ages and no children are born…”

How To Be Invisible – Tim Lott. This one looks like a really brilliant contemporary novel; a coming-of-age story about a young black boy ostracised in his white community, who learns how to become invisible (from a dusty old book found in a mysterious bookshop, naturally). Never Ending Story vibes.

Breathe – Sarah Crossan. This cover is just GORGEOUS. Let us bask in it:

Image

It’s so shiny! And purple! Oh, and the plot looks decent too; Oxygen levels are so low that it is you have to pay to breathe it. What happens to the poor, when even air is no longer free?

Across The Universe – Beth Revis. An attempted-murder mystery. Set on a spaceship. Yes please. Also with a gorgeous purple cover.

Hourglass – Myra McEntire. Seventeen year-old Emerson Cole suffers apparitions after the death of her parents. At least, she thinks they’re apparitions… . I’ve seen comparisons to the Time Traveller’s Wife for this one, excited to get around to reading it.

Tinder – Sally Gardener. Sally Gardener is an aboslute treasure. Maggot Moon is one of the most accomplished, profound Children’s  novels I’ve ever had the absolute please of reading, and absolutely had to pick up Tinder when I saw it in Waterstones. Tinder is an illustrated prose novel in the vein of Patrick Ness’ A Monster Calls, and this hardcover edition is absolutely beautiful. Kudos to the design/production team at Indigo!

The Beautiful Indifference – Sarah Hall. Hall is another of my favourite authors. Her book ‘The Electric Michaelangelo is incomparable, and if you loved The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern or Gruen’s Water for Elephants, an absolute must read. The Beautiful Indifference is a collection of short stories, again picked up in Oxfam Books for £1.

Enclave – Ann Aguire. Enclave is the first book in the ‘Razorland’ series, which sounds  both scary as hell and intriguing, and I’ve heard and read nothing but fantastic reviews for it. Also, the cover in (some of its) glory, it’s embossed and extremely striking when not on a computer screen:

enclave

The Monstrumologist – Rick Yancey. Another book one of a series, this one being YA horror. Will Henry is apprenticed to a doctor of Monstrumology. Monsters, gore, adventure, and all that good scary stuff. Apparently rather fantastic, and I discovered this one from The Readables‘(spoiler free) review of the last book in the series, The Final Descent.

Alif the Unseen – G. Willow Wilson. This one has been on my radar for a long time, but after it was announced that G. Willow Wilson is at the helm for the new Ms. Marvel title out in 2014, I just had to get this book in my life and give it a go. A rather ridiculous £4.99 in the 50 book sale at The Book Depository.

And last, but by no means least:

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell. I am a big Rainbow Rowell fan, it’s official. Her novel Eleanor and Park is one of my absolute favourite books I read 2013, and so I just had to order the US hardback through Foyles prior to the UK release. I just couldn’t wait!

“A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.”

It’s Rainbow Rowell. It was a total no-brainer for me.

fangirl

So there we have it! A monster haul of 16 books in approximately 10 days. Oops?!

I love my job, but it isn’t a good one for encouraging me to restrain myself from hoarding more books than I can house (or read, for that matter!)

Look out for reviews of some of these to come!

What books have you bought or borrowed this month? Let me know, if you’re so inclined.

Leave a Reply

